The sins of the fathers…

This week I’ve been struck by a particular segment of Scripture several times, in class, at church, and on my friend’s blogs, so I figure I may as well jump on the bandwagon and post about it here.

Exodus 34:6-7

“Then the Lord passed by in front of him and proclaimed,
‘The Lord, the Lord God, compassionate and gracious,slow to anger, and abounding in lovingkindness and truth;
who keeps lovingkindness for thousands, who forgives iniquity, transgression and sin; yet He will by no means leave the guilty unpunished, visiting the iniquity of fathers on the children and on the grandchildren to the third and fourth generations.'”

Is this as simultaneously exciting and frightening to anyone else as it is to me? The things that I do- the patterns of living, the thoughts, the habits, the daily actions and lifelong pursuits- will have repercussions upon my children, my children’s children, and so forth for two more generations!

It’s awesome that this works both ways- In families like Timothy’s (like I and II Timothy), the godly example of the grandmother then led to a godly life by her daughter, and both of them led to the life of Timothy, a man pastoring a church at an age when most of us were still in school. At the same time, however, the little sins that I allow to remain in my life will have unforeseen and untold consequences in the lives of my kids, and their…well, you get the picture.

Certainly does make you think twice about things, no?

Leave a Reply

